Thank you for your support during these difficult times. We have and will continue to be open to customers. We recommend that you use call ahead ordering. 

0

Your Cart is Empty

(New) Learning Center

Rocky Mountain Bee Supply “How to Videos” via YouTube Channel

How to “Install a Package of Bees”: YouTube link

How to “Install a NUC”: YouTube link

How to “Release a Queen”: YouTube link

How to “Inspect your Hive”: YouTube link

How to “ Use an OA Vaporizor”: Link

 

Colorado State University (CSU) Extension recommended on-line resources:

Dave Cushman's Website: http://www.dave-cushman.net/ 

Apis Molecular Systematics Laboratory, Washington State Dept. of Entomology: http://entomology.wsu.edu/apis/

ATTRA - Appropriate Technology Transfer for Rural Areas: www.attra.ncat.org.attrabeekeeping.pdf

Bee Diagnostic Lab — USDA Research: http://www.ars.usda.gov/main/site_main.htm?modecode=80-42-05-40

Bee Gate – Bayer: https://beecare.bayer.com/media-center/news/detail/a-new-way-of-protecting-bees-againstvarroa-mites

Bee Informed - Rob Snyder: www.beeinformed.org

Univeristy of Minnesota Bee Lab: http://www.beelab.umn.edu/prod/groups/cfans/@pub/@cfans/@bees/documents/asset/cfans_asset_317466.pdf  

Bee Source: http://www.beesource.com/resources/

Colorado State University Publications: https://extension.colostate.edu/docs/pubs/insect/ihm-bee.pdf

Colorado State University Fact Sheets: 

https://extension.colostate.edu/topic-areas/insects/creating-pollinator-habitat-5-616/

https://extension.colostate.edu/topic-areas/insects/attracting-native-bees-landscape-5-615/

https://extension.colostate.edu/topic-areas/insects/feeding-honey-bees-in-colorado-5-622/

CDA Apiary Program: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/agplants/apiary-program-page

CDA Managed Pollinator Protection Plan: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cSt2XfqBGONvztiAgL4TyMojqE6LRGek/view

DriftWatchTM: https://co.driftwatch.org/

eXtension Bee Health: http://www.extension.org/bee_health

Honey Bee Health Coalition: https://honeybeehealthcoalition.org/wpcontent/uploads/2019/01/HBHC_Hive_BMPs_v1.0_reduced.pdf    

Honey Bee Veterinary Consortium: https://www.hbvc.org/

 

Scientific Beekeeping: http://scientificbeekeeping.com/

University of Georgia College of Agriculture & Environmental Science: http://www.ent.uga.edu/bees/disorders/bacterial.html

University of Nebraska – Lincoln Entomology Department: http://entomology.unl.edu/

USDA Honey Bee Breeding, Genetics, and Physiology Research Lab: http://www.ars.usda.gov/Main/site_main.htm?modecode=64-13-30-00

USDA Honey Bee Research, Beltsville, MD: http://www.ars.usda.gov/main/site_main.htm?modecode=12-45-33-00

USDA Honey Bee Research, Tucson, AZ: http://www.ars.usda.gov/main/site_main.htm?modecode=53-42-03-00

Varroa Sampling at Extension.org: http://www.extension.org/pages/31539/varroa-sampling#.VRwGhPnF98E

Virginia Cooperative Extension - Sampling Methods for Varroa Mites on Domesticated Honey Bees: http://pubs.ext.vt.edu/444/444-103/444-103.html

Recommended Trade Journals

The American Bee Journal: https://americanbeejournal.com/

Bee Culture: https://www.beeculture.com

 

Regional and National Organizations:

American Beekeeping Federation: https://www.abfnet.org/default.aspx

American Honey Producers Association

National Honey Board: https://www.honey.com/honey-industry

Colorado State Beekeepers Association (CSBA): https://coloradobeekeepers.org/

Colorado State Professional Beekeepers Association (CSPBA):

 

Colorado Beekeeping Clubs and Associations:

Boulder County Beekeepers Association (BCBA) – Boulder, CO

Brighton Beekeepers Club (BBC) – Brighton, CO

Central Colorado Bee Group (CCBG) – Salida, CO

Eastern Colorado Beekeepers Association (ECBA) – Strasburg, CO

High Land Beekeeping Club (HLBKC) – Highlands Ranch, CO

Mile Hive Bee Club (MHBC) – Denver, CO

Mountain High Beekeepers Cooperative (MHBC) – Longmont, CO

Northern Colorado Beekeepers Association (NCBA) – Loveland, CO

Pike’s Peak Beekeepers Association (PPBA) – Colorado Springs, CO

Pueblo County Beekeepers Association (PCBA) – Pueblo, CO

Routt County Beekeepers Association (RCBA) – Steamboat Springs, CO

Southeast Beekeeping Club (SEBC) – Parker, CO

Spanish Peaks Beekeepers Association (SPBA) – Walsenburg, CO

Western Colorado Beekeepers Association (WCBA) – Grand Junction, CO

Westminster Bee Club (WBC) – Westminster, CO

4 Corners Beekeepers Association (4CBA) – Durango, CO

 

Beekeeping Laws and Regulations:

Colorado Apiary Inspector:

Colorado State Department of Agriculture, Division of Plant Industry

Colorado State Apiculturist, Mr. Mitchell Yergert,

Chief, Plant and Insect Section

700 Kipling St., Suite 4000,

Lakewood, CO 80215

(303) 239-4142

mitchell.yergert@ag.state.co.us

 

Colorado Parks & Wildlife Resources:

https://cpw.state.co.us/aboutus/Pages/GameDamageResources.aspx

Apiary Fencing Configurations:

https://cpw.state.co.us/Documents/LandWater/PrivateLandPrograms/GameDamage/BuildingSecureBeehiveEnclosure.pdf

https://cpw.state.co.us/Documents/LandWater/PrivateLandPrograms/GameDamage/FactShtApairyFenceOperation.pdf#search=apiary%20fence